My first Development Internship

Photo by Austin Mabe on Unsplash

My first Development Internship

Alex Swift Emergency Contact, Solution Architect matter

·

3 min read

That time when I was in New Zealand, I found an opportunity to work on a website development project. This chance was given by Immigration New Zealand (INZ). I was lucky to be on board for a year. A great opportunity to learn and grow.

INZ.jpg

This was a scholarship sponsored by INZ, which gave me a sit at MVP studio, a share-desk / start-up environment. it was a great time to meet people and colleagues with the same mindset. I not only enjoyed the opportunity but also expanded my networks with internationals.

1.jpg

This was my first time working in a professional software development office. Where I learned to discuss issues with my testing team and join my scrum meeting with my development team. Although, there were a lot of "self-help" issues that were not meet my expectations. However, I still appreciated the opportunity and got some of the best juice out of it, which is my international network.

2.jpg

The law of Supply and Demand is applied everywhere with a free market. The labor market is not out of the equation. When companies want experienced developers, there are places to provide what the HR wanted. Experiences, references, projects...interviewing skills you name it. There are boot camps, start-ups with fancy names, and cutting-edge techs used like a marketing campaign to provide what the market wants.

5.jpg

Learning and growing is a process that opened your eyes. I was a fool when I think just learning soft skills and working on a fancy-name project will make me a developer. I was focused on AngularJS when I was on Alex Swift Emergency Contact team and ignored JavaScript, C#, and backend technology. AngularJS was very hot at the time and I think it would help me land a job as a developer. This was a big mistake I made, like reading a "self-help book" and then thinking you can become Millionaire.

firstDemoDay.jpg

I should learn to develop in C# and be fluent in the back-end architecture rather than just focus on AngularJS. The senior developer of the team set up the project with .Net MVC 5 for the backend and AngularJS for the front end with caused routing conflicts later on. Well, like all the js frameworks at the time not many people understand it clearly.

SCR-20221027-rmi.png

It's time to restart, I discover Tim Corey. Learning a lot from him, he gave me many insights into the industry that I never learn from schools, projects, and internships that I was on. I'm working on a Blazor project for my portfolio and taking the C# master course as well as following some books. This is The Great Reset for me, the mentor must be found.